My Black Hair Journey

Photos of Nigerian Hairstyles

Posted on: May 22, 2009

Photos - OjikereIf you have read some of my earlier posts on this blog, you know that I started out talking about my childhood in Nigeria and my recollections of the fancy hairstyles that I grew up accustomed to seeing on the heads of Nigerian women. Even though I don’t wear those styles now, I have always admired them for their beauty and artistry. As I was digging around on the internet, I found an online collection featuring some of the work of J.D. Okhai Ojeikere, the photographer who I talked about earlier on this blog. This online display is part of the Contemporary African Art Collection, which is a private collection that was created by a Italian named Jean Pigozzi.

The above photo, from the collection of Klara Kristina is licensed under a creative commons 2.0 license

Leave a Reply

Northwest Scents at Amazon.com



Northwest Scents Natural Black Hair Care Products at Amazon.com

J.D. Okahi Ojeikere – Photographs (at Amazon.com)



J.D. Okahi Ojeikere in his book "Photographs" documents some of the traditional hairstyles of Nigerian women.
May 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

