My hair was breaking off and I didn’t even know it

Even though I liked wearing my hair natural, I didn’t realize that I was damaging it until one day (sometime around 1998) when a relative asked to see how long my hair was. She took my hair down, and as she looked through it she started saying very loudly “Your hair is broken, your hair is broken!!!” I was quite devastated because my hair had been doing quite nicely the last time I checked. But she alerted me to the fact that it was quite broken in the middle. Not knowing what to do, I decided not to do anything. I didn’t realize it, but the combination of me wearing my hair natural, brushing it, pulling it back into a scrunchie and a twist, and experimenting with ineffective hair care products, was causing my hair to break off. The most damage was at the crown of my head where my hair is the most coarse.

As time went on I did notice that the hair around my face had begun to thin out to the point where I could see my scalp when I brushed my hair back. Also, the hair at the crown of my head always seemed much shorter than the rest of my hair. I would laugh it off and keep going. The straw that broke the camel’s back was one day in church when a lady saw me in the bathroom and told me that my hair was thinning around my hairline and that I should be careful. It was true! It wasn’t just something that I noticed, it was noticeable to others. My hair was falling out and breaking off and I didn’t know what to do. I had always had thick hair as a young girl, but that was no more. I cried that day.

One thought on “My hair was breaking off and I didn’t even know it

  1. wow thankyou so much for leaving this comment i had extensions and then i brought my hair back to normal. I brushed my hair through and didn’t realize how much damage i was doing. Then i conditioned my hair a few days later and i realized how short it was rate in the center. I have also noticed that my hair in the front is breaking off too , i have no clue what to do i am keeping it straight and i was thinking maybe braids will help but im not sure what step to take from here.

Leave a Reply

